May is Prader-Willi Awareness Month!! #31 days!!

PRADER-WILLI SYNDROME PWS ribbon

My daughter Makenna is my inspiration in everything I do now. Yes, I have a husband and  another daughter who are also my inspiration, but there is something special about Makenna. She has Prader-Willi Syndrome! I will fight every battle with her, we will overcome them together, as a family and we will win this constant battle with hunger!

May is Prader-Willi Syndrome Awareness month. The “PWS community” has joined in and is taking on a challenge to spread awareness by giving something up. It can be whatever you like. See, with PWS, Makenna will have to give up a lot of things in life, in order to stay healthy. I am giving up SUGAR. Candy, chocolate, cookies, sweets and anything that has sugar! Yikes, but I will do it everyday, forever, for Makenna!

sugar

All of it too.. ARTIFICIAL stuff also. So nothing in my coffee, or unsweetened green teas, or in my protein bars or anything I cook.

Can you do it? Join in with me and many others! It is only 31 days of your life!

I know you can do!!

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Prader-Willi Syndrome and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

