Butternut Squash + Kale Muffins

Butternut Squash + Kale Muffins (with coconut flour)

butternut and kale muffin

Ingredients:
8oz frozen butternut squash (you can use fresh, just measure out 8oz)
1 cup kale, raw and finely chopped
1/4 cup coconut flour
4 egg whites
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (or you can use water)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon of EVOO or coconut oil (I ran out of mine so replaced with oil)
Sea Salt, pepper and garlic seasoning to taste (or whatever spices you like)

Directions:
1. Place butternut squash in a microwave safe dish, fill with water and cook for 5 minutes
2. Put into a food processor and puree the squash
3. In another bowl mix the squash, coconut flour, eggs, water
4. Bake at 350* for 17-20 minutes. Put a fork through to make sure fully cooked
** These will not look cooked as they do not change color or texture after placing them into the muffin pan

Serving Size: 7 muffins
Calories per muffin: 64 calories

**THIS IS MY OWN OPINION AND EXPERIENCES: If you are new to eating coconut flour, the texture if completely different from cooking with wheat flours or ground oats. For me, it has been a challenge to use it and get recipes tasting right. Coconut flour is very absorbent and recipes require a lot of extra liquid. It has more of a cake like texture and my family always says “where’s the water.” You do not want to over cook them as they can turn out really dry.

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

