When life throws you curves…(the blog is making a change)

               “When life throws you curves…”

keep moving forward

I have always been a nutrition nut and fitness freak. So, these aspects will now come together in this blog. I hope to incorporate my two loves, along with my goal of spreading awareness for Prader-Willi Syndrome (PWS).

Since the diagnosis of my daughter’s genetic disorder, Prader-Willi Syndrome (PWS), life has taken on an entirely different meaning for me.

Makenna, 2-years old

Makenna, 2-years old

I started 2013 with big goals, dreams and inspirations… My life’s new direction is geared towards making life for Makenna a lot easier. I decided to share my passion for “creating the most nutritious meals with the least amount of calories.” by creating this blog, along with my Facebook Page: Staying Healthy When Hunger Strikes. I hope to not only inspire those looking to change their lifestyles, but to give hope and support to families dealing with the food side of PWS.

Diet and exercise

Staying active is an imperative part of my life, and for the lives of our children/adults with PWS. Daily activity is a must. I have always worked out and it makes me feel good about myself. This is where my fitness journey will surface. Stay tuned for stories of inspiration, articles relating to the importance of daily activity for all ages, and my daily workout life!

My new-found purpose in life is to spread awareness for PWS. I want to do the best I can with raising money for research and to support our national organization.  This is what I was put here to do.

I hope that you will follow me on this journey to a healthier you, to live a more active lifestyle all while becoming educated about PWS.

Stay healthy, stay active and get inspired!

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Fitness, Inspiration, Prader-Willi Syndrome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

