Blueberry-Raisin Oatmeal Bars

I have been in the mood for oatmeal, but not the kind that is hot and steamy in a bowl… I wanted a grab-n-go breakfast type of bar, and one that I could feed my 2-year old when we are out as breakfast or a good healthy snack.

As always, I began to put my basic ingredients together, added some fruits and nuts and here is the end result! A delicious, dense, no-sugar, natural and moist bar!!!

blueberry raisin oatmeal bars2

Blueberry-Raisin Oatmeal Bars

Ingredients:
2 cups oats
3 extra-large egg whites (4 regular size)
1/4 cup non-fat greek yogurt
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/4 cup fresh blueberries
2 tablespoons sliced almonds
2 tablespoons raisins
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons cinnamon
Dash of Salt

Directions:
1. Mix all ingredients together, then add almonds, raisins and then fold in the blueberries, otherwise they may burst open
2. Place into a bread pan
3. Bake at 350* for 20-25 minutes

These are not very sweet and are great with a little butter on top. I dabbed some natural honey and it was amazing!!

Blueberry raisin oatmeal bars1

Serving size: 8 slices
Calories per slice: 115

Modifications:

For the sweet tooth: You can add more cinnamon, 2-4 tablespoons of honey, some stevia packets or even a few tablespoons of brown sugar or agave

For the nut conscious: remove the nuts, or add whatever kind you like

For the fruities: Feel free to swap out the blueberries. Get creative and make something you enjoy

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blueberry-Raisin Oatmeal Bars

  1. Allison Chave says:

    Can’t wait to try these!

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Nut Bread | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

