Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

I have been craving a burger lately… and I had a ton of sweet potatoes. So I combined the two! This recipe is great for a hearty snack or you can have two for lunch or dinner. You can add cheese, whatever veggies you like and spices to top off your palate!

Sweet Potato Veggie Burger

Ingredients:
1 pound of sweet potatoes or 16 oz.
1 cup of Spinach
1/2 cup Edamame
1/2 cup green bell pepper (or color of choice)
1 whole egg
2 egg whites

Spices: Cumin, Chili Powder, Garlic Powder, Sea Salt and Pepper (I did not measure, just sprinkled onto the sweet potatoes).

Directions: 
Cook sweet potatoes until soft (I stuck mine in the microwave for about 15 minutes). Remove skins and mash.

Sweet potato burger1

Microwave edamame and bell pepper for about 1 minute to get them soft. Then mash. Chop spinach.

Sweet potato burger3

Sweet potato burger2

Combine the veggies, spices and eggs together with the sweet potatoes. Mix well.

Using a 1/4 measuring cup, scoop out mixture onto a greased pan.

Sweet potato burger4

Bake at 400* for 15 minutes. Then CAREFULLY flip over. These are a little delicate and may break, but once you flip them over you can mash them back together again. Bake for an additional 10-15 minutes.

Here is what they look like when done….

sweet potato burger5

Serving Size: 6 burgers
CALORIES per burger: 115

**You can individually wrap these in foil and place in the freezer for a quick and easy snack/lunch/dinner!

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Bacon Boats | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Workout #15: Guacamole Sweet Potato Burgers | pugtato

Leave a Reply

