Coconut Flour Tortillas

OMG! Amazing dinner last night! I surprised myself. We had enchiladas! Instead of using Ezekiel tortillas or a low carb one, I decided to get creative and make something using coconut flour…. my new obsession! Low carb, high fiber-who could ask for anything better, right? And they contain a good amount of protein, so this makes it very PWS-Friendly!

Coconut flour

The internet search was on as I needed some guidance and then I found these from Against All Grain! Here is the original recipe. Of course I changed mine around a bit… Here is my version.

coconut flour tortilla1

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons coconut flour
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
4 whole eggs
4 egg whites
2 tablespoons coconut oil (refined)
1 tablespoon baking powder

coconut flour tortilla2

Directions: 
~Combine eggs, almond milk, coconut flour and melted coconut oil. Let sit for 5-10 minutes. As the mixture is sitting, warm a pan on medium-high heat. Then add in baking powder, stir again.
~Using a 1/4 measuring cup, pour into greased pan and swirl around to create a thin layer. Leave on until side start to life, then carefully begin to lift the tortilla, and flip.
That’s it! All done! Super simple.

I had extras (they held up great in the refrigerator) that I used for breakfast! This is going to become a weekly staple for a while! So many things to do with them!!

MACROS BREAKDOWN: Serving size is 10 tortillas
                                     Calories      Fat     Carbs     Fiber     Sugar     Protein
Totals per tortilla:       55              3.5       1.2          0.6        0.1            4.3

Modifications:

~To remove fat: Try it with all egg whites. For every whole egg, replace with 2 egg whites
~For a breakfast crepe: try adding 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, then fill with peanut
butter and bananas, or cooked down fruit and top with some cool whip.
~For the chocolate lover: melt some chocolate chips and drizzle on top

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Dinner, Gluten-Free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut Flour Tortillas

  1. vandemom2 says:

    Very interesting. where it says coconut milk, I imagine you meant flour and your hands were faster than your brain there 🙂
    Only 1.2 carbs per tortilla?? you are a genius. Do I understand the numbers correctly, if 10 tortillas are made the counts are for one of them?
    So crazy how opinions change, it wasn’t that long ago that coconut was strictly taboo, especially anything with coconut oil. Thanks for the post, will definitely have to try these.

Leave a Reply

