The “Green” Cleanse and Detox

As the year came to an end, I began to feel tired all the time. Maybe it was partly being out of my normal routine, food indulges and giving in to my serious sweet tooth? Who knows. January came and I was ready to get back at my clean eating, committing to the gym and to focus on my goals. Well, I got blasted with a week-long cold, then my girls got the cold, I ran in the Color Run (in the pouring rain and was freezing cold for hours) and bam I got a major sinus infection. Three long weeks later, I finally felt a little back to normal but still very tired.

The search was on and I had found this picture showing me where different organs are in the body and what types of foods can help those areas:

detox picture

I finally found something I thought would work. I decided to try a cleanse and detox. I have never done one and I wanted something that contained lots of green vegetables and fruits. Not just liquids (because I would rather eat my calories than drink them), no pills or other weird things to try- more au natural.

It was a 3-day cleanse and detox  from SkinnyMS.com You can find everything you need here.

green detox

This is what I made the morning of Day 1. It was full of green veggies, and lots of fruit. This took me a long time to drink and was really thick. To my surprise it was really good. I stuck with the remainder of the day, following the cleanse and detox. I made it until the end of day one and was STARVING! I still munched on fruit and veggies and went to bed- still hungry! lol

Day 2, I made another drink, drank it and decided I needed more food. I gave up. Yup- that’s right, gave up. I was just too hungry, had a headache and my body needed more to function.

BUT- this cleanse worked for me. Lets just say you should not go on a 5 hour car ride while doing this!

One day worked for me. I got rid of all the junk I had been eating and got my energy back feeling fresh again!

I am now trying to incorporate a “green drink” once a week on a rest day!

Go and give this cleanse a try! I highly recommend it, but do not go past the 3 days!

About Lisa Lamb

This is a way for me to share my passion for living a healthy lifestyle, share my fitness journey and to create low calorie recipes for us and my daughter Makenna who has Prader-Willi Syndrome! Description My daughter was diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder called Prader-Willi Syndrome which in a nutshell, (but please feel free to google for more information) will cause a chronic feeling of hunger that, coupled with a metabolism that utilizes drastically fewer calories than normal, can lead to excessive eating and life-threatening obesity. The food compulsion makes for constant supervision necessary. This page is dedicated to her. She inspires me everyday to live a happy, healthy and active lifestyle. I want to create a healthy environment for her. With my passion for nutrition and fitness, I hope I can spread awareness about PWS and create healthy recipes for her to enjoy with never feeling deprived. She has given me new hope to move forward with my passion in nutrition and become a Registered Dietitian. My focus will be on childhood obesity, emphasizing in PWS. I look forward to sharing my journey with you all! ***Please note I am not a Registered Dietitian. I would classify myself as a "nutrition snob." I do all of this because I love learning about food and fitness. All the recipes posted are tired and can be adjusted to your lifestyle. ***
This entry was posted in Fruits and Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment